

LEXINGTON PHYSICIAN HONORED FOR VOLUNTEER MEDICAL SERVICE

DR. JOSEPH MILLER, A FAMILY PRACTICE PHYSICIAN FROM LEXINGTON, HAS MADE A CAREER
OUT OF PAVING THE WAY FOR THOSE WHO COME
AFTER HIM. HIS EXTENSIVE VOLUNTEER WORK
WITH MEDICAL STUDENTS LED COPIC TO SELECT HIM AS THE RECIPIENT OF OUR HAROLD E.
WILLIAMSON VOLUNTEER PHYSICIAN AWARD.

The award annually recognizes a Nebraska physician for volunteer medical services and contributions to the Nebraska health care community. The award includes a \$10,000 grant to be designated to the health care-related, nonprofit organization of the recipient's choice. Dr. Miller has chosen to direct his grant to the Nebraska Academy of Family Physician Foundation, earmarking the funds for the Foundation's scholarship program.

Since 1984, Dr. Miller has worked with Plum Creek Medical Group, but his work does not stop there. He is a volunteer faculty member for the Department of Family Medicine at the University of Nebraska Medical Center (UNMC), serving as a mentor for medical students for the past 27 years. He has also volunteered for the UNMC Physician's Assistant Program and the University of Nebraska Nurse Practitioner Program.

Along with his contributions to the Nebraska health care community, Dr. Miller also donates much of his time to his community. His support of the Lexington Community Foundation has helped them with three separate million dollar plus campaigns. Other community activities and



support include contributing to the United Way for 26 years, the Grace Lutheran Church, Lutheran Outdoor Ministries, and a Lexington after-school youth club, among others.

Dr. Miller was nominated by Dr. Carol LaCroix, President of the Nebraska Academy of Family Physicians. Dr. LaCroix saw first-hand his service and leadership as a family physician. "Dr. Miller was one of the family physicians nominated for our 2011 Family Physician of the Year Award. We became aware of the huge impact he has made on his community through his medical and volunteer services. When we became aware of COPIC's award, it seemed that Dr. Miller would be a perfect candidate," said Dr. LaCroix.

Also nominated for the 2011 award were R. Michael Gross, M.D.; Richard Legge, M.D.; Robert Rhodes, M.D.; and Frederick Youngblood, M.D.

WE ARE PROUD TO RECOGNIZE THE CONTRIBU-TIONS DR. MILLER AND HIS FELLOW NOMINEES HAVE MADE TO THE HEALTH CARE COMMUNITY.

ORIGINAL ARTICLE APPEARED IN:
NEBRASKA BULLETIN • NOVEMEBER 2011

