DR. PETER JANES RECOGNIZED WITH 2012 WILLIAMSON AWARD

Summit Community Care Clinic in Frisco is known for providing primary care services to people who are underinsured or have no insurance. But what happens when a serious medical condition arises that requires surgery outside of what the clinic can provide? Dr. Peter Janes addressed this issue by organizing the first annual "Free Surgery Day" in Summit County in 2010. The event provides free surgery to patients who need it most, which helps them

Ē

NEWSLET

BIMONTHLY

S

COPIC

move forward on the path to regaining full functionality and self-sufficiency. Since its inception, the event has served more than 50 patients suffering from various debilitating conditions by offering free surgery that they could not have otherwise afforded.

Besides performing surgery, Dr. Janes is also very involved in the collaboration efforts needed to organize such a large scale project. In 2012, 15 surgeries were performed as part of Free Surgery Day. Volunteers who donated their time included orthopaedic surgeons, anesthesiologists, nursing personnel, and medical staff. Between 2010-2012, these combined services totaled more than \$150,000 at no cost to the patients involved.

For his efforts in orchestrating Free Surgery Day, as well as a multitude of other volunteer medical projects, the COPIC Medical Foundation is honored to present Dr. Janes with our 2012 Harold E. Williamson Volunteer Physician Award. Dr. Janes received a \$10,000 grant from the COPIC Medical Foundation, which he directed to





From left: Dr. Ted Clarke (COPIC), Dr. Raymond Blum (COPIC Board), Dr. Peter Janes, Sarah Vaine (CEO of Summit Community Care Clinic)

Summit Community Care Clinic to support its efforts.

"Dr. Janes is an outstanding volunteer, not only because he contributes his personal time, resources and expertise to benefit the most vulnerable members of our community, but because he encourages others to do the same. Dr. Janes changes lives and makes Summit County a better place to live," said Sarah Vaine, Executive Director of Summit Community Care Clinic.

Prior recipients of the Harold A. Williamson Award include:

- 2011—Kurt Wever, M.D.
- 2010—Jacqueline Woodrum, D.O.
- 2009—George Garmany, Jr., M.D., FAAN

Better Medicine • Better Lives

- 2008—Malcom Tarkanian, M.D.
- 2007—Robert Heyl, M.D.

Copyright 2013 by the COPIC Trust. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means without written permission from the publisher.

.....